Address Book & Contact Management keyboard_arrow_right Delete Contacts


This tutorial covers how to delete a single contact and multiple contacts from your address book. You also have the option to remove all data related to a single contact.

It is important to read this full tutorial before deleting contacts. Deleted contacts cannot be restored.

If the contact has requested to be unsubscribed from your email list but has not used the CorpNote unsubscribe form, you can unsubscribe for them. The "unsubscribed" status will prevent you from sending emails to a contact should you accidentally try to add or re-import them into your address book. If the contact later decides to re-subscribe through your CorpNote subscribe form, the "unsubscribed" status will be removed and you will be able to send email to the contact again. (related tutorial: Unsubscribe Requests)

Delete a Single Address Book Contact

  • Search for the contact and click the icon delete to delete the contact.
  • The selected type of delete defaults to Address Book Delete which will remove the contact just from your address book.

What IS deleted

  • All personal information, dates and comments for this contact will be deleted from your address book
  • This contact will be removed from all email lists, scheduled emails and automated email campaigns to which they are assigned
  • All references to this contact's name in your email, invitation lists and survey lists will now be shown by their email address only

What is NOT deleted

  • Your account history for this contact will NOT be deleted
  • This contact's email address will remain in your email history for all sent correspondence. You will still be able to view this contact's history by searching on their email address.
  • All invitation and survey responses for this contact will retain the information they provided
  • If this contact has unsubscribed, the unsubscribe status will remain in effect (unless they choose to re-subscribe)

thumb_up Important Notes

If you delete a contact from your address book, as instructed above, you can still view the deleted contact's history by their email address. To view a consolidated history for an email address that is not in your address book, view the tutorial for View/Manage Historic Data.

Delete Multiple Address Book Contacts

You can delete multiple contacts from your address book at one time from the search results screen.

  • Search for contacts by date added, category, company etc.
  • Check the box next to each contact you want to delete
  • Click the "select all on page" checkbox to select all contacts on that page. Each page holds up to 100 contacts
  • Click the "Delete Checked" button
  • Review the confirm screen to review your selected contacts before confirming the delete.

thumb_up Important Notes

Deleting Multiple Address Book Contacts will only delete contacts from your address book. You can still find a history for the contact based on their email address. To view a consolidated history for an email address that is not in your address book, view the tutorial for View/Manage Historic Data.

If you used the "select all on page" checkbox, you will be returned to the search results page to select more contacts for deletion. Verify that your search parameters are still correct and then continue to delete contacts as needed.

Delete all Historic Data for an Address Book Contact

The 'All Data Delete' option is only available when deleting single contacts.

  • Search for the contact and click the icon delete to delete the contact.
  • Select the 'type of delete' as All Data Delete. You will see a box like the one below that describes what will be deleted with this option.

What IS deleted

  • All personal information, dates and comments for this contact will be deleted from your address book
  • This contact will be removed from all email lists, scheduled emails and automated email campaigns to which they are assigned
  • All references to this contact's name in your email, invitation and survey history will be removed. The record of their transaction will remain, and will be identified as "Contact Removed"

What is NOT deleted

  • If this contact has unsubscribed, the unsubscribe status will remain in effect (unless they choose to re-subscribe)

thumb_up Important Notes

  • All of the delete options above do not remove any of the reporting / statistical data for your emails, invitations and surveys.
  • If you choose the option for "All Data Delete," all emails, invitations and surveys related to that contact will now appear in your reports with the identifier "Contact Removed."
  • It is up to you whether you want to delete the emails, invitation and survey responses that are identified as "Contact Removed".

Next Tutorial: Export Contacts double_arrow

Need Help?
Phone: 609.406.1665 Hours: Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm Eastern
Email Support  |  Help Center/FAQs  |  Tutorials

Ready to get started?  
CorpNote - Email Marketing Services
P.O. Box 565 | Fountainville, PA 18923 | 609-406-1665 | Hours: Monday - Friday, 9am - 5pm Eastern
© CorpNote.com 2004-2021